Group Members

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Gunnlaugsson Research Group is lead by Professor Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson and is subdivided into three main focus groups (Self-Assembly and 4f-metal Systems, Ru(III)-based Biological Probes and Anion Supramolecular Chemistry)  that work on interconnected strands of the group research projects.

The current group is comprised of 6 post-doctoral fellows, 8 post-graduate students, and a variety of visiting students from other universities as summer interns, final-year undergraduate and Master’s research students. The Group has maintained strong international flavour with members from across the globe, including Iceland, Ireland, UK, France, Portugal, Spain, Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Russia, Denmark and India. 33 post-graduate students have graduated from the research group to date.

Below are provided links to profiles of the various members past and present.

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr Oxana Kotova
Dr Emma Veale
Dr Sankarasekaran Shanmugaraju
Dr Chris Hawes
Dr Dawn Barry
Dr Fergus Poynton
Dr Esther Surender

Postgraduate Researchers

Savyasachi “Sachi” AJ
Sam Bradberry
Helen Burke (joint with Dr. Eoin Scanlan)
Eoin McCarney
Bjorn La Cour Poulsen
Anna Aletti
Amy Lynes
Elena de Calatrava Pérez (joint with Dr. Eoin Scanlan)
Dermot Gillen
Sandra Estalayo Adrián
Hannah Dalton
Isabel Hegarty
Bruno D’Agostino
Emanuele Cappello
Jason Delente

Visiting Researcher

Dr Ciarán O’Reilly

Visiting Students

June Lovitt
Marcel Klein-Hitpass
Francesca Pancotti
Charlyne Dabadie
Anais Chalard
Agostino Galanti
Devis Montroni

Former members

A list of former postdoctoral researchers, postgraduates and visiting researchers