Eoin McCarney wins Nature Chemistry poster prize at Southampton Supramolecular Symposium


Second year PhD student Eoin McCarney and postdoctoral researchers Joe Byrne and Chris Hawes attended the Southampton Supramolecular Symposium, which was organised by Dr Jonathan Kitchen (a former postdoc in the TG Group who is now an academic in University of Southampton) and Dr Steve Goldup. Eoin was presented with the Nature Chemistry poster prize by Head of Department, Prof Phil Gale, for his poster on the lanthanide directed self-assembly and gel formation of btp ligands.

Various medalists and prize-winners spoke at the meeting, including Assoc Prof James Crowley (Otago), Prof David Leigh (Manchester), Prof Andrew Cooper (Liverpool), Prof Micheale Hardie (Leeds).


Angewandte Chemie International Edition report on Prof Gunnlaugsson winning ICI Award for Chemistry

Angewandte NewsAngewandte Chemie International Edition recently featured an article highlighting Thorri’s recent award of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland‘s Annual Award for Chemistry.

“Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson (University of Dublin, Trinity College) has been awarded the 2014 Annual Award for Chemistry by the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland,” the article announces. “Gunnlaugsson’s research involves organic and inorganic supramolecular chemistry and also medicinal chemistry. He has reported in Angewandte Chemie on lanthanide-functionalized gold nanoparticles, and in Chemistry—A European Journal on chiral luminescent supramolecular structures.”