ChemCommun-RSC Prizes and Awards Symposium on Supramolecular Chemistry

Professor Gunnlaugsson welcomed researchers and students to the Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute for the ChemCommun-RSC Prizes and Awards Symposium on Supramolecular Chemistry. Speakers included Jerry Atwood, (University of Missouri-Columbia (2012 RSC Supramolecular Award)), John Callan, (University of Ulster), Chris Chang (University of California, Berkeley (2012 RSC Chemistry of Transition Metals Award)), Sylvia Draper (TCD), Phil Gale (University of Southampton), David Leigh (University of Manchester), Donal O’Shea (UCD), Eoin Scanlon (TCD), Jonathan Steed (Durham University), and Susan Quinn (UCD).  The free one-day event was a great success, with over 160 delegates and a fantastic programme featuring RSC Award winners and leaders in the field.

Many members of the group presented posters, and Joe Byrne was awarded the RSC Books Poster Prize for his poster entitled: “Synthesis of a series of novel amino-acid containing ligands and their self-assembly with Eu(III) and Tb(III) in solution”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s